One of the faculty members of the Department of Physics, Diponegoro University, Dr. Choirul Anam, has received a prestigious international award, The IUPAP Early Career Scientist Prize 2022, from the International Organization for Medical Physics (IOMP) in collaboration with the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP).

The award recipient is a scientist who has had a career in the field of medical physics for a maximum of 8 (eight) years after completing a doctoral program. More detailed information about this award can be found on the website: The award recipient is selected only one person per year from the scientists considered to have made the most significant contributions to medical physics in the world. The award recipient is chosen by a special committee composed of leading scientists worldwide.

Dr. Choirul Anam was selected to receive this award for the year 2022. The award will be presented at the International Conference on Medical Physics (ICMP), which will be held on December 8-9, 2023, in Mumbai, India. Previously, the recipients of this award were: Dr. Ali Asghar Mowlai (2006, Iran), Dr. Leif Schröder (2009, Germany), Dr. Magdalena Stoeva (2012, Bulgaria), Dr. Ferdinand Schweser (2013, Germany), Dr. Jan-Bernd Hövener (2014, Germany), Dr. Guerda Massillon-JL (2015, Mexico), Dr. Francis Hasford (2016, Ghana), Dr. Abdul Nashirudeen Mumuni (2017, Ghana), Dr. Kuo Men (2018, China), Dr. Mitsuhiro Nakamura (2019, Japan), Dr. Jaydev K Dave (2020, USA), and Dr. Chai Hong Yeong (2021, Malaysia) (

Dr. Choirul Anam has conducted comprehensive research on radiation doses and image quality from computed tomography (CT) machines. He and his team have developed two software programs for CT dosimetry (IndoseCT) and for image quality in CT (IndoQCT). Both software programs can be downloaded from the website: To date, both software programs have been downloaded by students, scientists, and researchers from around 50 countries.

Dr. Anam has published approximately 200 papers to date. About 50 of these, Dr. Anam is the first author, and around 100 of them are indexed in Scopus. One of the papers written by Dr. Anam and his team has also been awarded the Best Paper by the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM). Dr. Anam has also received the Outstanding Reviewer award twice from IOP Publishing. In 2019, Dr. Anam also received the Young Leader Award from the Southeast Asian Federation of Organizations for Medical Physics (SEAFOMP). In 2023, Dr. Anam also received the Trusted Reviewer award from IOP Publishing.




Click one of our contacts below to chat on WhatsApp